The Journey

I was looking for my last SF50 the other day and in the process found an old running journal. When I was a “runner” I always kept a journal. I started running in the 7th grade. My dad and I would go to the high school track at night and I would start on the outside lane and run 8 laps, moving in a lane as I completed each lap. 2 miles. I remember the cool nights of March and the hot nights during the summer. I remember making a hand drawn calendar, marking the days with a black felt tip pen. I’d set a goal for mileage for the week and we would be at the track 3 or 4 nights a week. This continued for years. I ran cross country my Freshman and Sophomore years. I was never a “gifted runner”, but loved being apart of the team. I had a serious knee injury my junior year and did not finish the season. My senior year I opted (brace yourself) to try out for Cheerleading. I made the squad and secretly envied the runners on the track while I was doing “cheers and stunts” in the grassy part of the field. Through it all I continued running. I kept a running journal all through my twenties. Once my son was born and I went through a divorce running fell to way side. I haven’t kept a running journal since.

The journal I found in my filing cabinet has a log of Volksmarches I ran in the early 90’s. It was so strange to see distances like 10k, 12k, 20, 10k consistently week after week.

If you’ve struggled with your weight chances are according to Bob Greene (Oprah’s personal trainer), it is tied to an emotional issue. Its never really about the food, according to Bob.

I think my story is much like other moms. When you work full time (or more), are raising kids, being a wife, throw in youth sports….prioritizing gets to be like juggling several balls…..and usually something eventually will fall. Or you juggle with less balls….which is my case. Ive put my health and fitness on the back burner while concentrating my effort on career and family. It’s not something I’m proud of or something I was even realizing at the time. With only so many hours in the day, I have not made taking care of myself a top priority.

Going into a new year, I’ve spent time reflecting on all the things I was thankful for in 2008. I also am setting new goals for 2008 and my #1 goal is the lifestyle change of getting healthy. I’ve rearranged my whole work schedule, work life and even the radio show we do on Tuesdays nights by putting the Fitness journey on the front burner.

Today I hopped on the elliptical and it felt good……once I was done. Here was my workout:

5 min. cardio
5 min. low impact aerobic / tae-bo moves
x 3
30 min. total

10 min. worth of ab exercizes

I plan on sharing my workout routines and sharing more thoughts vs. just stats.

My current goal is to loose 10 lbs. Im breaking down this “big elephant” of a goal into bite size pieces.

Thanks for reading and joining the journey……

I can’t wait till I’m finally “running”, for now I am taking it one workout at a time.

Tips to get you motivated to run/workout:

2. MAMA, GET A NEW PAIR OF SHOES. Two-time Olympian Shayne Culpepper puts new gear she receives as an elite athlete to good use. “It’s fun to break in a new pair of shoes,” she says. “Sometimes that’s enough to get me excited.”

 1. CREATE A BLOG where you post your daily mileage, then give out the Web address to your friends and family. Do you really want Aunt Ellen to ask why you skipped your four-miler on Wednesday?

From runnersworld.com

5 Responses to “The Journey”


  1. 1 Ready Maid 18 January, 2008 at 3:56 pm

    I’m right there with you, Wendy. I’ve got the blog up and running, albeit with a moniker so far. Thanks for your encouragement by example.

  2. 2 Army Blogger Wife 18 January, 2008 at 7:46 pm

    I love to run, but after my last baby it has been hard on my body! I did 4 miles on Sunday, but last night couldn’t make it past 2.5 without pain. Ordered a new pair of shoes and hoping that they help. I am hoping to run some 5Ks, etc while he is deployed and participate in the Walk to Iraq and Back.

  3. 3 wendy 19 January, 2008 at 10:46 pm

    I heart running. It is pretty much the one actual thing I do just for me. And it has been key to my losing the baby weight. Way back when my first dd was born I thought mom’s weren’t allowed to run. It took until baby #3 was born for me to start running again…..slowly. I’m still slow, actually! Have you checked out the Couch to 5 K website – I love their running schedules and running log.

  4. 4 wendy 19 January, 2008 at 10:47 pm

    army blogger wife – what is the walk to Iraq and back?

  5. 5 Samantha 26 January, 2008 at 9:08 am

    Great post! I am a client of an online fitness/nutrition program that has helped me make activity and healthy eating more of a priority.

    Just a tip for those who would like to use an online tracker, check out buckeyeoutdoors.com …you can log all your workouts there and its easy to input on your blog. I keep mine linked on my blog to help keep me accountable!


Leave a Reply

Welcome

Welcome to my little corner of the blogsphere featuring thoughts on design, military life, writing, photography, travel and my beagles.
Navy Wife Radio

Follow me on Twitter

a

Flickr Photos

Snowman

Shrimp

Snowman and shrimp

back of front door

2010 Snoopy ornament

David Winter ornament

David Winter ornament

2010 Snoopy ornament

More Photos

Archives

People Who Inspired Me to Write

Latest News!

2006 MilBlogs of the Year Finalist

Thank You!

Just a little note to say Thank You for stopping by & reading my blog. I hope you find it enjoyable and maybe a little a funny. Pour that cup of tea and feel free to leave me a comment!

Blogs that Link me here

Subscribe to this Feed

Milblogging.com

Welcome Home!

Welcome Home

