Christmas Highlights

katie_tree.jpgWhat was your favorite Christmas highlight this year?

As I sit here watching the Patriots play the Giants (who I really would prefer loose…and not because Im a die hard Patriots fan like LilK, but because I really don’t like Tom Coughlin (or however you spell his name)….he used to coach the Jaguars….and I just think he is mean)……

I digress…

I’m thinking of what was most memorable about this years Christmas holiday. In years past we have traveled to be with family. I have schlepped wrapped presents stuffed in the trunk all over. I’ve endured being around my brother and sister who simply just cannot be in the same room with another for more that 30 min. without the tension heating to the point of boiling over erupting into an argument.

This year, we stayed home.

We woke up in our house, LilK opened his presents in front of his tree and we created some “home traditions”. We had apple turnovers and hot cocoa for breakfast. It was really great. Of course we missed BigK being here, but he was able to call….so that was our favorite Christmas present.

Our day was peaceful, spent curled up at home. I made a turkey, which I hadn’t done in …..I can’t remember when. Big K usually does this….and we fry it. I opted to just bake it. I saw the Barefoot Contessa do this many times on her show and thought…..what the heck, I’ll try it.

Here is my receipe / we’ll the Contessa’s receipe

10lb. Turkey

Preheat Oven 350*

Melt stick of butter and baste Turkey with all the butter. Season generously with salt and pepper.

(My mom brought me a roaster pan when she was here for Thanksgiving. I thought….what am I going to do with this?? We had our Thanksgiving dinner catered, but “warmed up” the turkey in it….so I did get to use it. I’m not much of a cook, just ask my husband. BUT I’m so glad I had it because that is what I cooked the turkey in.)

myturkey.jpgBake for 2hrs. 30 min.

Cover with Aluminum foil and let rest for 20 min. so all the juices work back into the meat.

…..and thats it.

I personally do not like the stuffing in the bird. It always seems soggy to me so I made it separately. You can stuff the turkey to enhance the flavor….but I just simplified.

It was so yummy.

I carved the turkey. This is also a job BigK does and I really missed him doing it because it did get a little messy.

I separated the meat the leftovers into three zip lock bags….one for the frig….and two for the freezer.

Other items on the menu:

Mashed Potatoes
Green Bean Casserole
Turkey Stuffing
Pumpkin Pie (LilK’s favorite)

Next year or heck maybe sooner, I plan on making some traditional New Mexico Holiday recipes. Posole (po-SO-lay) and Tamales. It just didn’t make sense to make it for two people.

LilK’s memorable gift was a new bike that is painted desert camouflage…..very cool.  As for me, I’d have to say tickets to see Michael Buble in March….I’m taking LilK so that should be interesting.

On Christmas Eve we went touring around looking at Christmas lights. Of the many neighborhoods we wandered into I have to say ours had so many houses decorated. LilK concluded many people must be out of town on vacation to “North Dakota”. What ND? I guess because they have snow there?? I just thought that was funny.

We didn’t have a white Christmas, but it was still memorable. It was fun, peaceful and when I take time to sit and think in the quiet about the Miracle of Christmas. It is pretty overwhelming. What would life be like without the birth of the Lord and Savior Jesus Christ? I just don’t want to even imagine that.

I’m so thankful for this past Christmas and 2007, so many wonderful memories and blessing from the Lord. I can’t wait for 2008!

4 Responses to “Christmas Highlights”


  1. 1 Kevin 30 December, 2007 at 2:12 pm

    I was on deployment last Christmas, so I sympathize with you and your family going through the pain of being separated this holiday season. It really helped me appreciate being home this year for Christmas though, and I hope that it will make your 2008 Christmas that much more special, too.

    We’re praying for you and your husband!

  2. 2 wendy 2 January, 2008 at 3:39 pm

    Your Christmas feast sounds delish! Yum!

    Happy New Year!

  3. 3 Wendy 2 January, 2008 at 9:09 pm

    Yes, I think from this point forward all our Christmas together will be appreciated that much more. Thank you for keeping us on your prayer list!

    🙂

  4. 4 Wendy 2 January, 2008 at 9:10 pm

    Wendy 🙂 Yes, it was yummy….and Happy New Year to you too!


Leave a Reply

Welcome

Welcome to my little corner of the blogsphere featuring thoughts on design, military life, writing, photography, travel and my beagles.
Navy Wife Radio

Follow me on Twitter

a

Flickr Photos

Archives

People Who Inspired Me to Write

Latest News!

2006 MilBlogs of the Year Finalist

Thank You!

Just a little note to say Thank You for stopping by & reading my blog. I hope you find it enjoyable and maybe a little a funny. Pour that cup of tea and feel free to leave me a comment!

Blogs that Link me here

Subscribe to this Feed

Milblogging.com

Welcome Home!

Welcome Home

