Christmas Shopping Ideas

rock_pop_150_120.jpgUsually by Thanksgiving I have my Christmas shopping done. Yes….I know….crazy right. It comes from living in Germany years ago and having to meet shipping deadlines. Its a routine that has stuck throughout the years, some years I have a few straggling gifts to get (which is the case this year)….but for the most part I get it done by December.

One thing I started doing a few years back is giving extended family gifts that are either personalized (like a photo calendar of grandkids), consumable or entertainment related.

So far, we haven’t had any complaints. I test the water with hints like “wouldn’t tickets to a Mavericks game be cool?” … that way what I send doesn’t get re-gifted.

Past gifts have included:

Dinner & Movie Gift Cards – we have done both Ruth Chris and more moderately priced restaurants.
Professional Sports Game Tickets – We have family in Dallas that LOVE the Mavericks
Subscriptions to a favorite Magazine
Juniors Sugar Free Cheesecake – My grandmother has everything she could ever want and buying for her is difficult….she would never think to order something gourmet, so this type of gift is perfect for her.

Sometimes a gift a jewelry sneaks in for the moms, but that is rare. They each have jewelry boxes full, so it is sort of pointless.

In trying to follow this pattern, it makes shopping for the holidays a little easier. No sweaters, ties, flannel shirts, gadgets, dust collectors, etc….

I even started doing this for birthdays and it works out just great. We all have so much stuff, who needs more of it?? I used to collect David Winter Cottages….I’ve told my family NO MORE…..my little curio cabinet thing is almost busting at the seams!

Being creative with gifts that includes homemade items too is also wonderful. I also went through a season of hand painting vases which the ladies in the family got from me one year. I’d love to learn embrodiery and make myself some dish towels, I had an Aunt make me a set once. Maybe you have seen these: Monday = Wash Day Tues = Baking Day Wed=Shopping Day….etc…. I need to figure out how to do that.

Maybe next year when Im giving my mom concert tickets I can give her a set of hand embroidered towels for the kitchen…..

Got any unique ideas for Christmas gifts??

5 Responses to “Christmas Shopping Ideas”


  1. 1 Lindsay 30 November, 2007 at 9:12 am

    My dad is the most difficult person to shop for. If there is anything he really wants, he buys it. He is also a huge adrenaline junkie, so last year for Christmas we got him a pass to drive a race car at Texas Motor Speedway. He got to satisfy his “need for speed” in a relatively safe enviornment and it was something he would never have bought for himself.

    The only problem is that now we have to figure something out for this year!

  2. 2 wendy 1 December, 2007 at 12:14 am

    I feel the same way about everybody already having so much stuff! But Christmas planning and shopping is so fun! We are mostly doing the tacky Hawaiian gifts thing this year for our parents and siblings. I need to go ahead and ship those off…

  3. 3 Kevin 1 December, 2007 at 4:11 am

    When my family comes out to Hawaii to visit us for Christmas, we’re giving them each a Hawaiian shirt and a ticket for the Paradise Cove luau. Hopefully we’ll convince them all to WEAR the same Hawaiian shirt and get a family photo in them.

    I can relate on not being able to buy things for parents – if they want something, they buy it. They don’t really need anything.

  4. 4 Just Laura 4 December, 2007 at 11:56 pm

    Since hubby will be deploying early next year, family heirlooms and memories have been big for me recently. I am making small picture frames of past Christmas memories back through childhood for each member of the family. Pre-cut balsa wood from Michaels & Joanne, a little metallic spray paint and brightly Christmas colored matting for the backs.

    I love memory gifts…

  5. 5 Wendy 6 December, 2007 at 10:21 am

    Lindsay – Wow…that is a cool gift. My husband, dad, grandpa…haha any of them would LOVE that. Very cool!

    Wendy – Gifts from where you are stationed are wonderful. My grandmother has the neatest collection of things I sent her from Germany….many things I wish now I had bought for myself! ha! Now and in years to come those gifts will be “remembered”.

    Kevin – Just have them put the shirts on before you feed them. 🙂

    Laura – Very creative…and great idea. Thanks for visiting the blog!

    Ho-Ho-Ho!


Leave a Reply

Welcome

Welcome to my little corner of the blogsphere featuring thoughts on design, military life, writing, photography, travel and my beagles.
Navy Wife Radio

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

a

Flickr Photos

Archives

People Who Inspired Me to Write

Latest News!

2006 MilBlogs of the Year Finalist

Thank You!

Just a little note to say Thank You for stopping by & reading my blog. I hope you find it enjoyable and maybe a little a funny. Pour that cup of tea and feel free to leave me a comment!

Blogs that Link me here

Subscribe to this Feed

Milblogging.com

Welcome Home!

Welcome Home

