Decorating for Christmas

This weekend has been filled with lots of food, family, friends and the unpacking of LOTS of Christmas decorations. I always tell myself I am going to decorate the first weekend in November. It never actually happens though, because the hubby insists “no decorations” until after Thanksgiving. So….Thanksgiving weekend is traditionally when our decorations go up. This year I had ample time to get decorations up early…..and even though I had rearranged furniture and purchased some wreaths for my windows nothing really made it out of the attic.

I guess Big K was working his “delay the decorating” magic all the way from Afghan. This weekend like tradition would have it, we put up our tree and decorated our house. I had contemplated not decorating since we might not be home on “Christmas”, in the end I decided to pull every box down. LilK was a big help and the hot cocoa was flowing.

Here are my top 5 hightlights from the decorating extravaganza.

1. We have more Santa’s than any family should have. (Somehow Big K received a Santa one year and family always makes sure we get a new one each year.)

2. Hanging Big K’s stocking was very sad, made me miss him even more.   I almost didn’t put it up…..but then decided against it. It is right next to Med K’s who’ll be in FL for Christmas this year.

3. The living room has the perfect window for the tree. Last year I put it up in the corner of the living room….it looks much better in front of the window even though it takes up more space.

4. The fun of decorating two trees. Our family tree is in the living room and I have one skinny tree in the dining room. I hang all white and silver ornaments on that tree….it is very simple and does not have that many ornaments.

5. Finding and remembering the story behind special ornaments. We get one special ornament every year. They usually come from some place we have traveled. They don’t have to be expensive, just unique. Sometimes they are dated, but not always. It’s a great tradition and I especially love all the hand made “school” ornaments.

Now if I can just locate my camera to take some photos…..

5 Responses to “Decorating for Christmas”


  1. 1 Ann M. 26 November, 2007 at 10:03 am

    We get an ornament every year, too. I think we’ll need a bigger tree soon! I am glad that you decided to decorate anyway, keeping the tradition going. Can’t wait to see the pictures!

  2. 2 Lemon Stand 29 November, 2007 at 4:33 pm

    That must be a common tradition because we too, get an ornament each year. I figure that when the kids leave home they can take theirs with them to start their own Christmas collection.

    Sounds like you have lovely family traditions all the way around.

  3. 3 Wendy 29 November, 2007 at 10:18 pm

    Ann – Yes…I decided to decorate even though it wasn’t as much fun. I think when I was cleaning for all the Thanksgiving company I put my camera in some place secure because it has yet to surface! grrr

  4. 4 Wendy 29 November, 2007 at 10:20 pm

    Lemon Stand – yes, I love ornaments….they tell a story. In fact, I need to get some super glue because we had an old one start to fall apart and heaven forbid I throw it out. 🙂


  1. 1 Our Tree « All Ahead Full Trackback on 16 December, 2007 at 12:39 pm

Leave a comment




Welcome

Welcome to my little corner of the blogsphere featuring thoughts on design, military life, writing, photography, travel and my beagles.
Navy Wife Radio

a

Flickr Photos

Archives

People Who Inspired Me to Write

Latest News!

2006 MilBlogs of the Year Finalist

Thank You!

Just a little note to say Thank You for stopping by & reading my blog. I hope you find it enjoyable and maybe a little a funny. Pour that cup of tea and feel free to leave me a comment!

Blogs that Link me here

Subscribe to this Feed

Milblogging.com

Welcome Home!

Welcome Home