NArmy News

What kind of news do you get from a husband deployed to Afghanistan?

Instead of stories about the Chief’s quarters / people I actually know, talk of being on watch, and pranks underway like the missing XO’s door and that the radioman doesn’t like him so I should not expect any email, here are some of things the DH has reported home:

1. Lots of Army words – he now knows what Class Six means.

2. He is amazed the Army doesn’t buy coffee. I had to remind him, but they DO make sure your MRE’s have the heating pack. (The Navy doesn’t ….we’ll at least when the guys are at Ft. Jackson going through training.)

3. Lots of talk about hearing planes and helicopters taking off and landing.

4. A picture of him in front of a tank.

5. The experience of seeing a flag draped casket of a fallen hero.

And those are just the few that come to mind. It occurred to me I am following the news far more than I used to when it comes to the GWOT.

I now know what a MRAP is…..and for all my Navy friends who don’t have a clue what I’m talking about….MRAP = Mine Resistant Ambush Protected vehicle.

MRAP

3 Responses to “NArmy News”


  1. 1 wendy 25 October, 2007 at 3:40 am

    we are gearing up for a similar deployment. AF meets Army. It is very educational!

  2. 2 slightlysaltyspouse 26 October, 2007 at 12:57 pm

    I totally relate. My husband has sent me pics of him in front of a tank – although he’s not riding in tanks as part of his job or anything. Just took pictures in front of one. Definitely talk of hearing planes and helos taking off.

  3. 3 Wendy 26 October, 2007 at 6:07 pm

    Yes, it is VERY strange to see your Sailor with a tank behind him instead of water. Made my heart skip a beat. *Oh Crap* is the first thing I thought of. 😉


Leave a Reply

Welcome

Welcome to my little corner of the blogsphere featuring thoughts on design, military life, writing, photography, travel and my beagles.
Navy Wife Radio

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

a

Flickr Photos

Snowman

Shrimp

Snowman and shrimp

back of front door

2010 Snoopy ornament

David Winter ornament

David Winter ornament

2010 Snoopy ornament

More Photos

Archives

People Who Inspired Me to Write

Latest News!

2006 MilBlogs of the Year Finalist

Thank You!

Just a little note to say Thank You for stopping by & reading my blog. I hope you find it enjoyable and maybe a little a funny. Pour that cup of tea and feel free to leave me a comment!

Blogs that Link me here

Subscribe to this Feed

Milblogging.com

Welcome Home!

Welcome Home

