Having a Moment

The husband recently celebrated a birthday. Now, I know missing birthdays and holidays is nothing new to living this mil-life, but that doesn’t mean I have to like it.

On his birthday I found myself at Sams, buying things specifically to send to him in a care package. This is the first care package I have put together for him. You would think I would be excited to send him something….it occurred to me I don’t much like having to send him care packages, because that means he is gone.

While in line there was a man buying a birthday cake along with birthday candles. I couldn’t help but tear up because I would not baking or buying a cake today. I wondered for moment if he had any idea just how blessed he was to be able to celebrate this birthday with his loved one. That cake with white frosting and orange lettering sent me spiraling into my own “moment”.

The only thing I could of think of to stop me from completely having a cry fest in Sams was the fact something reminded we did HAVE cake. We had cake a week before he left at his favorite restaurant. In fact we had TWO types of cake…..that thought made me feel better.

I decided celebrating a holiday can be on “any” day as long as you clebrate. One year we celebrated LilK’s birthday a month early with a sleep over with all his favorite friends so dad could be there.

When I told BigK about “my moment”, he told me he had gotten an email from friends of ours in Italy and the husband reported he missed the wifes B-Day for the FOURTH year in a row. It made realize to be appreciative that this is only the 2nd out of the last 4 birthday’s he has missed being home.

My glass is half full! 🙂

3 Responses to “Having a Moment”


  1. 1 Ann M. 14 October, 2007 at 1:54 pm

    This post made me cry (probably because DH has missed half of my birthdays since we’ve been together). You are so right that a holiday can be celebrated whenever, because the whole point is being with the people you love. It doesn’t take the sting away from facing that day on the calendar without them, but it makes us appreciate the time we do get to have.

  2. 2 wendy 14 October, 2007 at 2:57 pm

    My neighbor just brought over a stack of priority mail boxes and the overseas form…her husband is coming home later this week…. for some reason seeing those boxes in my closet and knowing that they mean I’ll have to start using them in a couple months makes me cry….

    Happy Birthday!

  3. 3 Uma 15 October, 2007 at 2:17 am

    I remember those boxes. I kept them in the attic so I didn’t have to look at them until I needed them. I cried everywhere I went for about a month after he left, and let’s not mention what happened when I saw someone in uniform. We’ve celebrated Christmas in February and birthdays whenever we can. Sending you a big virtual hug. You know where to find me when you need a sympathetic ear.


Leave a Reply

Welcome

Welcome to my little corner of the blogsphere featuring thoughts on design, military life, writing, photography, travel and my beagles.
Navy Wife Radio

Follow me on Twitter

a

Flickr Photos

Archives

People Who Inspired Me to Write

Latest News!

2006 MilBlogs of the Year Finalist

Thank You!

Just a little note to say Thank You for stopping by & reading my blog. I hope you find it enjoyable and maybe a little a funny. Pour that cup of tea and feel free to leave me a comment!

Blogs that Link me here

Subscribe to this Feed

Milblogging.com

Welcome Home!

Welcome Home

