The Deployment Countdown

We are in the countdown phase to the DH’s deployment. Here on the blog I don’t discuss boat movements , so nothing is written is real time about the days before a deployment. The buildup, the shopping of last minute items, the anxiety, and the influx of family members who arrive to spend that last bit of time with you and your Sailor…etc.

Since this deployment is not boat related, I have the luxury of writing about it here and sharing a bit of my thoughts.

Soon DH will be leaving for his IA to Afghanistan. First in the stop is Norfolk for a few days, then South Carolina for training and then finally over to Kuwait for more training before arriving in country.

I keep telling myself the next 13 months will be like one 6 month and one 7 month deployment. That sounds much better doesn’t it?

My posts here have not been as often as I have had house guests this week and as luck would have it a few urgent work projects that needed some attention. With all of that now completed we have the long weekend together to just hang out. House projects are done, we have had friends and neighbors over for dinner for the “goodbye” parties and have done all the “deployment” shopping.

The biggest difference in preparing for this deployment is the lack of connection with other wives who will be leaving with my husband. I really didn’t think much of it until about the last month. About a week ago Sarah Smiley was on the show and she said something that really made sense to me. We were talking about the benefits of spouse groups / family readiness groups and her thoughts were….”no body understands what you are going through like your spouse club, not a spouse club, or not another spouse, but your spouse club because they are ones that are in it the same time as you are”.

When DH did his check out with his command he came home with two business cards. His civilian boss and his military boss. It’s hard for me to believe that after five years of this GWOT there isn’t something set up that connects IA families together on a command level and not just a 800# to call, a website to visit or your DH’s boss’ #.

Maybe I should I call the bosses and see if they want to have coffee?! I would love to give them an earful.

Is your DH on an IA? What has your experience been with his command? Send me an email and sound off at wendy(at)submarinewife.com

or leave me a comment!

5 Responses to “The Deployment Countdown”


  1. 1 slightlysaltyspouse 5 September, 2007 at 7:33 pm

    My DH is on an IA. I won’t go into details here but I started a blog about it and other things about Navy life. You can read more there – http://www.slightlysalty.wordpress.com. Please feel free to email me if you need to talk or commiserate! I completely understand about the lack of support for these IA deployments. I don’t know if you saw an email me from a week or two ago (from a personal email account) but I gave some links to IA resources as far as information goes, etc. It’s not the same as having a support system in place at a command like on a ship but there is some information. Anyway, please contact me if you want. I’ll be glad to listen.

  2. 2 Butterfly Wife 6 September, 2007 at 7:26 am

    I do not claim to understand how these IA assignments work. Really, I am clueless. But if your husband is going to be attached to an Army unit, shouldn’t you be put in touch with that unit’s FRG?

    My husband (Army Reserves) was not attached to his current unit before this mobilization-deployment assignment. And now he is going to an active duty unit. FRG is the only way I have been and will be able to be in touch with his units’ families, both of which are about 1000 miles away from me.

  3. 3 Slightly Salty 6 September, 2007 at 9:34 am

    Wendy – my DH is on an IA right now. Feel free to drop me a line with any questions. My husband’s command hasn’t really been involved as far as an information point. I’m pretty much on my own with this. When he left back in March, things were just starting to be developed for IA families as far as a handbook and information about areas IA sailors could be deployed to, etc. I know some bases have started IA family support group meetings but it’s not the same as having a ship command to rely on for information or support.

  4. 4 Wendy 9 September, 2007 at 10:51 pm

    Wouldn’t you know it, the hubby leaves and I get sick with a terrible cold! Not good….sorry for the delay in responding!!

    Slightly Salty,
    Thanks for leaving me a comment. Im finding your experience is the norm. Before he left we took a mini vacation and then the craziness of getting ready so Im behind my emails. I just find it crazy the Navy wants us to visit a website, call a 1-800 # or just read the IA handbook. Just crazy. I do planning on figuring out what our local base has….I did visit the FSSC a while back and I think they try to do something once a month as a “base wide” thing. I’ll let you know what that turns out to be. You are right, it’s not the same as having a ship command to rely on for info / support.

  5. 5 Wendy 9 September, 2007 at 10:53 pm

    BW-
    I had thought the same thing. I asked the hubby to see if he can find out the Army FRG info so I can “connect” into their group. I’ll let you know how that works out. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Welcome

Welcome to my little corner of the blogsphere featuring thoughts on design, military life, writing, photography, travel and my beagles.
Navy Wife Radio

Follow me on Twitter

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

a

Flickr Photos

Snowman

Shrimp

Snowman and shrimp

back of front door

2010 Snoopy ornament

David Winter ornament

David Winter ornament

2010 Snoopy ornament

More Photos

Archives

People Who Inspired Me to Write

Latest News!

2006 MilBlogs of the Year Finalist

Thank You!

Just a little note to say Thank You for stopping by & reading my blog. I hope you find it enjoyable and maybe a little a funny. Pour that cup of tea and feel free to leave me a comment!

Blogs that Link me here

Subscribe to this Feed

Milblogging.com

Welcome Home!

Welcome Home

