Facing the News – The Navy Times

My first article in the Navy Times was published this week. The isssue also features a former Navy Seal who wrote the book “Lone Survivor”. Of course his story is much more interesting….so after you read that one head to the back of the paper to look for my piece in your copy or if you don’t subscribe pick it up at the news stand. To read online,click here.

They changed the headline from the one I wrote originally, I guess they needed it to be more “emotional”. Since the piece came out, I’ve already received my first hate mail. I guess that means I can share hate mail stories with Pat, from Hey, Shipwreck. The feeling was much better when I received some nice mail, I received a unique and interesting letter from a man who served in the Navy during the late 60’s. This has been a sort of surreal experience considering one of my biggest fears is having people actually read what I write. I’m slowly getting over that, but it is difficult. When I saw the article my first reaction was, “Oh no, look how big my name is….couldn’t they have made that smaller??” I’m much more confortable with how it looks online. I wonder if other aspiring writers have a similiar fear??!

Verse for Today:

Jeremiah 29:11

Look it up.

4 Responses to “Facing the News – The Navy Times”


  1. 1 Tracie (Navy wife) 25 June, 2007 at 3:08 pm

    I’m curious as to what kind of hate mail you could possibly receive from that piece. If you are able, please do tell. After reading it a few times, and commiserating, as my own husband is deployed as an IA to Iraq for a year, I can’t say that the article made me feel hostile or hateful for that matter. 🙂 Tracie

  2. 2 Ann M. 25 June, 2007 at 6:50 pm

    Someone sent you hate mail for that? What for? I thought it was very good, and true. A lot of the guys in my husband’s office are taking IAs, too. I’ve never once heard them say anything about doing it for the incentives, either.

    I’m not so much afraid of being published as I am of people actually reading what I write, if that makes sense. It’s OK if it’s out there, but when I get feedback about it is when I get nervous and scared.

  3. 3 Tara 25 June, 2007 at 11:01 pm

    Yep…they do. Trust me. 🙂 Have that feeling that is….I still have to get used to it…but sometimes it’s cool and fun! 🙂

  4. 4 Butterfly Wife 26 June, 2007 at 7:12 am

    “This has been a sort of surreal experience considering one of my biggest fears is having people actually read what I write.” LOL! You are not alone in that feeling.

    And great article.


Leave a Reply

Welcome

Welcome to my little corner of the blogsphere featuring thoughts on design, military life, writing, photography, travel and my beagles.
Navy Wife Radio

Follow me on Twitter

a

Flickr Photos

Archives

People Who Inspired Me to Write

Latest News!

2006 MilBlogs of the Year Finalist

Thank You!

Just a little note to say Thank You for stopping by & reading my blog. I hope you find it enjoyable and maybe a little a funny. Pour that cup of tea and feel free to leave me a comment!

Blogs that Link me here

Subscribe to this Feed

Milblogging.com

Welcome Home!

Welcome Home

