I’m Going

6/5

Today was a day like any other day around our house. We are still experiencing the first weeks of summer so we have been staying up later than normal and sleeping in later too. After I did some work on the computer, Lil K and I ventured to the bank and then the exchange. He needed a haircut. When we got home the husband was already home. It was about 430pm. We came in, chatted and then settled into our routines. I had been home for awhile when he found me in my office and stood in the door and said, “Well, it’s official, I’m going.” At least I think that’s what he said, since it’s all still swirling around in my head.

His orders to Afghanistan should arrive in about a week.

I swung my chair completely around and listened in as he told me about how he found out, the rukus it caused since his boss’s boss wasn’t aware BigK had put his name on “the list”.

So….we then proceeded to talk details like when he was leaving.

He’ll have 1 month of training and then leave straight from there for 365 days.

We then tried to explained everything to LilK.

Big K saw the latest Navy Times that was on our kitchen island and turned it over, the headline read something like “More Troops to Iraq”, he put it down in front of Lil K and said:

Him: “Well, Im not going to Iraq, but I’m going to Afghanistan like these guys”.

LilK: “You are? For how long”

Him: A year

LilK: Wow, a year. Thats a long time. (with a very sad look)

We were to sure to tell him it wasn’t like going to sea where there is limited contact. We would be able to have phone calls, emails, IM and packages and maybe even a web cam. 365 days without a phone call would be pretty brutal for an 11 year old, heck for a grown adult. I’m not sure the difference it made.

Tonight they are outside playing catch. Big K is teaching him how to pitch.

I’m not sure I’m ready for the road ahead. How do mil-spouses deal with deployments? I have a friend who is pregnant whose baby will be born before her husband returns home from Iraq. Thinking of that helps me put things in perspective.

I guess the answer is, they find a way.

I guess I will also find my way.

0 Responses to “I’m Going”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Welcome

Welcome to my little corner of the blogsphere featuring thoughts on design, military life, writing, photography, travel and my beagles.
Navy Wife Radio

Follow me on Twitter

a

Flickr Photos

Archives

People Who Inspired Me to Write

Latest News!

2006 MilBlogs of the Year Finalist

Thank You!

Just a little note to say Thank You for stopping by & reading my blog. I hope you find it enjoyable and maybe a little a funny. Pour that cup of tea and feel free to leave me a comment!

Blogs that Link me here

Subscribe to this Feed

Milblogging.com

Welcome Home!

Welcome Home

