‘Army Wives’ – My Reaction

Update: Listen to the Navy Wife Radio interview of *Army Wives – The Unwritten Code of Military Wives” – here (this is the book the series is based on)

———–
I’ve just seen the new TV Series Army Wives on Lifetime.

First let me say, I don’t normally watch a lot of TV. I have a few favorites, but even those will sit on my DVR till I have time to watch and I’ve been known to watch 3 episodes of Grey’s Anatomy back to back.

I tried not to watch all the previews online or read many sneak peek reviews so that I wouldn’t already know the best parts.

My first reactions are I really like the show. It was actually better than what I was expecting. But hold on….lets not get too excited yet.

My favorites:

1. The music! Including the track: Is This Love? – http://thomasandersonmusic.com/

2. I like Roxy and I totally buy into that story line. It’s a little racy, but very believable. She has the best dialog.

3. The camera style / visual look of the show. Recreating the military / army experience visually is very hard to do. The different shots they used, a little hand held camera action, kept it interesting and appealing to the eye.

Least Favorites:

1. “Soldiers don’t like their wives to work”.

2. The son hitting Catherine Bell – “Thats way to Lifetime” (a quote from Marie) and the “dismissed” line.

3. LTC Joan Burton dancing on the bar. Not sure just what “she did” that when her husband finds out “won’t love her anymore”, I’m guessing she wasn’t faithful. That person will be at the “Hail and Fairwell” around episode 4.

Totally did not like:

1. Why is it there has to be a half naked women shown on the screen. This is a show FOR women. I can never understand why stuff like this happens. Where are the young men doing PT with no shirts on? or a locker room scene….something people!!

2. The sex in the bathroom stall – call me a conservative.

Hope they add in future episodes:

1. A more diverse cast. Where’s the latin girl and/or guy??

Technical points:

1. In the opening scene as they are showing the base; the part I did ask the husband to watch to see what he recognized from his old Navy base and he said, “Yes, those are the old boomer baracks and officer housing.”

2. As far as the Tea Party having enlisted and officer wives there….the dialog states it was a “fundraiser”, not a “social event”. There has been a TON of debate on this issue over at the Army Wives blog.

My recap:

I do have some hesitation in giving my green light to this series.

I have questions like:

Am I just so happy to see a series about Military Wives that I will overlook the offensive scenes of Roxy in her thong, the sex scene in the bathroom stall and settle for the “jody bar” references to get to the “good” scenes like PVT LeBlanc teaching the kids Army lingo and him helping Roxy iron his uniform shirt? (but then geez…Roxy is in her underwear. Why do we need to see that? I am the only one not ironing in front of my kids in my underwear?)

I think if I can remember this is a Drama and not take it too seriously then it will be good summer entertainment, a guilty pleasure. I don’t watch a lot of TV, but my DVR tapes Grey’s. I love that show because it is filled with a mix of drama, fantasy, sap, ….it makes me laugh, cry and lets me relax for 45min. If Army Wives does that, then I’ll keep watching. (Even if I have to fast forward through the offensive parts – I do that on Grey’s too.)

Oh, I really like Brian MacNamara and I really think his character matches up better with Catherine Bell’s character.

I expect that around episode 7, now that would be “so Lifetime”!

4 Responses to “‘Army Wives’ – My Reaction”


  1. 1 Butterfly Wife 4 June, 2007 at 11:21 pm

    You make me laugh! Do you ask this many questions about Grey’s? LOL! Personally, if I were ever to get around to ironing, I would be perfectly willing to do it in my underwear in front of the kids (i.e., doggies). Of course, I don’t exactly have Roxy’s figure, but nonetheless, I’d do it. You are so right about the son hitting the mother being sooo Lifetime TV. It may be a good vehicle to address issues about different types of domestic violence, raise awareness.

    Oh yeah. I am calling you “Conservative”. What no sex in the public bathroom stalls for you? What are you like married with kids or something?!? How old fashioned! 😉

    The soldiers not liking their wives to work thing was the worst thing for me of the whole episode. But it would seem that as a family unit they would have decided to have the wife get a job before getting her pregnant as a surrogate for hire. Hmmm.

    I guess I have an active imagination because I can see someone having been through “hell” as it were in Afghanistan coming back, getting drunk, and dancing on the bar in a seedy lounge. I don’t see rank being an issue with such behavior. Just because we expect a LTC to behave differently doesn’t mean that she would NOT do such a thing. Obviously she is having a drinking issue. Whether it is a homecoming phenomenon or a serious alcoholic problem, it is just another vehicle to address some issues that are real in dealing with post deployment life.

    There is my 2 cents. Or more like 50 cents. 🙂

  2. 2 Wendy 4 June, 2007 at 11:37 pm

    I never thought she might have a drinking problem (the LTC), possible I guess. I just wanted the female soldier to not totally loose it in the first episode. For pete’s sake! Even the COL didn’t throw a grumble fit when he lost his promotion. Like a wife would be more upset! The producers win, they have me talking about this crazy show! Lifetime! grrr!

  3. 3 Alicia 18 June, 2007 at 3:36 am

    Hey I am an Army Wife and I just wanted to add my 2 cents. Some parts of the show are really exaggerated considering my expierience with other wives and familys. But… it is Lifetime so I guess they have to put alot of drama into it. I have to say they didnt totally exaggerate how sooo many wives gossip, and trust me it can get vicious .
    They also have the right idea too though on how it really is easy to find friends. We all go through deployments and of course its hard. Anyway I dont know anything about tea parties but if you take away the slightly offensive “lifetime” factor then it comes close in my opinion.

  4. 4 Asymmetric 25 June, 2007 at 3:14 pm

    Army wives isn’t awful, but it doesn’t compare to Desperate Housewives.

    My complete review


Leave a Reply

Welcome

Welcome to my little corner of the blogsphere featuring thoughts on design, military life, writing, photography, travel and my beagles.
Navy Wife Radio

Follow me on Twitter

a

Flickr Photos

Archives

People Who Inspired Me to Write

Latest News!

2006 MilBlogs of the Year Finalist

Thank You!

Just a little note to say Thank You for stopping by & reading my blog. I hope you find it enjoyable and maybe a little a funny. Pour that cup of tea and feel free to leave me a comment!

Blogs that Link me here

Subscribe to this Feed

Milblogging.com

Welcome Home!

Welcome Home

