The 619

sd11.jpg

A conversation between my son and I while I try to explain my trip to SBL2 at the end of the week:

Me:  LilK, now you know Mom’s going out of town on Friday, and your dad is flying in Friday…so we are going to do a sort of a baton hand off at the airport.

LilK:  Where are you going again?

Me:  San Diego, remember we talked about this?

LilK:  Yea, the 619, that’s not fair.  Dad gets to see the USS Constitution and you get to go to the 619 and I get to go nowhere.  (He then explains “619” is a reference to a car racing video game – and 619 is the area code for San Diego.  I googled it…and guess what?  ….it is!  go figure)

LilK:  What are you going there for?

Me:  Im going to a conference remember….for military spouses.

LilK:  What do you have to do?  Give a speech?

Me: No, Im going to sit on a panel and answer some questions.

LilK: Wow, like a celebrity or like the President when he is answering questions from all those reporters.  (He then proceeds to say, “Yes, next question please Mr. Reporter”.)

Me:  Not quite, but close.

LilK:  Is it just you?

Me:  No, I’ll be the Navy Wife and there will also be an Army wife and an Air Force wife.

LilK:  Wow, thats an honor, you know that right mom?  How did they pick you???

—-

He is right, it is an honor.  I’m still not sure how they picked me, however I’m so happy they did! 🙂

I’ll be deploying to the 619 later this week, only to miss BigK in the airport.  He arrives after I take off.  Maybe I’ll leave him a note at the Starbucks counter.  I love my crazy life.

2 Responses to “The 619”


  1. 1 Butterfly Wife 8 May, 2007 at 11:05 am

    Have a great time! I may be able to tune in during the morning.


  1. 1 Leaving for the 619 « SubmarineWife.com Trackback on 10 May, 2007 at 6:08 pm

Leave a Reply

Welcome

Welcome to my little corner of the blogsphere featuring thoughts on design, military life, writing, photography, travel and my beagles.
Navy Wife Radio

Follow me on Twitter

a

Flickr Photos

Archives

People Who Inspired Me to Write

Latest News!

2006 MilBlogs of the Year Finalist

Thank You!

Just a little note to say Thank You for stopping by & reading my blog. I hope you find it enjoyable and maybe a little a funny. Pour that cup of tea and feel free to leave me a comment!

Blogs that Link me here

Subscribe to this Feed

Milblogging.com

Welcome Home!

Welcome Home

