Tough Day

rose.jpgWell, today was the funeral for my grandmother.  The day went well….but it was as you can imagine very tough to get through.  I saw many long lost family members and met many new ones “oh I remember you when you were just a little thing”….all the visiting, remembering old times and learning all kinds of new stories was a bright spot in the day.

I wanted to write something about my grandmother and here is what I came up with:

My grandmother was born and reared in the southwest.  She lead a life that was committed to her family.  She had a spirit of hospitality and always welcomed you to her table.  She was a wife for 60 years, had 7 children, 10 grandchildren and many great grand children.

These are the facts, but the truth is …that isn’t the end of her story.

With seven children, her kids lived all over the country, I happened to live for most of my childhood here in A.  My dad traveled a lot with coaching so I spent a lot of time out at my grandparents.  I grew up following L.Ann around and my grandparents always made me feel right at home.

Today, while I remember my grandmother some of my favorite memories include trips to the white sands for picnics on Easter, going to the mountains, grocery shopping at the first of the month while my grandpa waited for us in the truck.  I can remember making a fuss so she would make LA take me with her to the Cadena’s, and she did not like that all!

My grandmother quit smoking long ago, but when I was about my son’s age, 10, one of the favorite things I would love to do is ride my bike down to little market to get a soda and candy.  My grandmother would give us $2 and that would buy her a pack of Winston cigarrets and L. and I would have enough to get an Orange or Grape Crush and some candy.     My grandmother would make soppallias, pancakes and the best fried chicken.   When I got a little older we would spend hours playing cards in the kitchen, and my grandpa would say in Spanish for us to go to bed because we would be laughing and carrying on keeping him up.
While I smile remembering all these precious moments with my Grandma and cry knowing how much I’ll miss her….I can take comfort in knowing she was a believer in Jesus Christ.

In a world were absolute truth is not “politically correct” people get very nervous when you profess to be a Christian.  Why? Because Jesus said, I am THE way, Not one of the ways, I am THE Truth, Not a possible Truth, I am THE Life, not a lifestyle.  Many people believe “Truth is whatever you believe.”
The Bible says we were born to bear witness to His truth.

The fact of the matter is a lot of us we don’t bear witness to the truth. See if you don’t know the truth you’ve got nothing to stand on in your times of trial.  Most people don’t, because the’ve not read the Bible and they don’t know Jesus…at all.  See if I didn’t know Jesus…. His word would not come up inside me with His truth.   My grandmother raised us to know God, Jesus and the Bible.

Knowing my grandmother has passed on, I could believe she is gone forever, that  I don’t have a grandmother anymore and that I’ll never see her again.

Instead I can stand on this truth.

God’s word says this:

1And I saw a new heaven and a new earth: for the first heaven and the first earth were passed away; and there was no more sea.

3And I heard a great voice out of heaven saying, Behold, the tabernacle of God is with men, and he will dwell with them, and they shall be his people, and God himself shall be with them, and be their God.

4And God shall wipe away all tears from their eyes; and there shall be no more death, neither sorrow, nor crying, neither shall there be any more pain: for the former things are passed away.                             Revelations 21: 1, 3-4

I have stood on this verse and it has brought change to by thoughts.  The thing I’ve discovered today is the facts do not line up with the truth.  You see the truth is powerful and brings hope, comfort and will set us free.

So, I don’t care what the facts say, I bear witness to His truth and it sets me free today.  My grandmother will spend eternity with God and that there are no tears in heaven, no sorrow and no pain.

And as a Believer in Jesus Christ, I know that I know that I know I will see her on the other side.

1 Response to “Tough Day”


  1. 1 Brandie 22 February, 2007 at 2:21 am

    *hugs* I’m sorry for your loss.


Leave a Reply

Welcome

Welcome to my little corner of the blogsphere featuring thoughts on design, military life, writing, photography, travel and my beagles.
Navy Wife Radio

Follow me on Twitter

a

Flickr Photos

Snowman

Shrimp

Snowman and shrimp

back of front door

2010 Snoopy ornament

David Winter ornament

David Winter ornament

2010 Snoopy ornament

More Photos

Archives

People Who Inspired Me to Write

Latest News!

2006 MilBlogs of the Year Finalist

Thank You!

Just a little note to say Thank You for stopping by & reading my blog. I hope you find it enjoyable and maybe a little a funny. Pour that cup of tea and feel free to leave me a comment!

Blogs that Link me here

Subscribe to this Feed

Milblogging.com

Welcome Home!

Welcome Home

